View Full Version : Potential Scam?

09-05-2004, 11:01 AM
Hi all,

I will try to keep this brief as I know we all have similar queries when it comes to being suspicious of being scammed.

I have met a Russian lady over the past week and obviously not wanting to make a fool of myself would just like to get some feedback on the happenings at present:

01. I know that this particular lady is using Bat! email software. Should this raise any suspicions as I had heard that most spammers use this rather then using hotmail or the like.

02. I am always addressed by my first name both in the body of email along with the subject box. I am assuming this is a good thing?

03. The lady in question doesnt seem to be taking in everything I tell her whereby she on one occasion asked me my nature of work though I had already explained in clear detail in a previous email what I do for a living. She has however answered the odd question here and there so I am in tow minds of its from a template.

04. She would like to telephone me and is wanting my number. Is this a good or bad thing?

05. There has not as YET been any mention of money either for internet payment, travel expenses.

06. She has sent me two photos which were relatively hi-res shots. One a normal photo and another in a studio. However, I have found another image of her on this site though it was under a different name and also a very lo-res photo. Could it be that these are 2 different people with the person on this site having stole the photo from somewhere else? a long shot probably...lol

I hope this all doesnt sound too stupid and paranoid but you have got to watch your back you know. Hopefully I will get some responses rather soon. Thanks

Lone Gunman
09-05-2004, 05:00 PM
A behavior of just replying a few odd questions and avoid others, is a scammers hallmark, in my opinion.

- Unless the made questions are not blunt or rude in any sense.

And not to mention that picture issue.......

See Ya

09-09-2004, 07:11 AM