PDA

View Full Version : Not Sure If I was Scammed

stumped
09-23-2004, 09:37 AM
Hello All,
I have been talking to a russian lady for nearly 6 months now. (have 68 emails from her and 25 pictures). The pictures are of all different ages including high school and university as well as some recent ones. We have discussed almost everything from our hobbies and interests to our families and lifestyles and work to the possibility of marriage. She has answered every question I have asked as well as asked me alot of questions. Every letter seems to be personal and is never a copy. I have looked everywhere on this site and the internet and cannot find her picture or anything in her letters that would suggest a scammer. One thing that does bother me is that her name is the same as a Russian actresses name as well as a Russian scammer that is in a different city and has a different picture. I checked the IP address of all emails and they all seem legit but she uses a program called The Bat so the closest I can trace is to a communication company in Yoshkar-Ola meanwhile she says she lives in Vladimir City (her passport also shows Vladimir City). I sent her the money for a plane ticket and her documents (since I had the money to spare) then she went to the embassy in Moscow and they apparently did a background check on us and approved the visa but needed to see 1800US dollars to prove she could take care of herself if there were problems. She said she wasn't able to borrow the money (said she tried)(has no family as her mother left her in the maternity ward when she was born) and I told her that I cannot get the money before the plane ticket was up. On the last day she took the ticket back but said she lost 30% of the price because it was the last day. (I told her to wait until then as I was trying to borrow the money). By the way, the money issue was not discussed until about a month after our first letter (11 letters later) and we both kind of discussed the issue, she didn't