Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Default Possible new form of scam?

Hello all,

I have been writing to a 25 year old Ukrainian girl for about 5 months now. I am 48, overweight and not really good looking. I think she is cute and seems to have a very bright and bubbly personality. I really like this girl.

Early in our correspondence I tried to flush her out as a possible scammer. I suggested she come to visit me, but she said no, and suggested I come visit her in the summer (of 2005). I sent her a birthday gift via a service that takes pictures of the recipients. The address was correct and I got back two photos of her with the gifts I ordered. Though, the photos were outside away from the building where she lives in.

So far I have never been asked for money and nothing has been typically done that suggests to me that she is a scammer. I have also mentioned things that I thought would have encouraged her to drop me, but she has not.

Later I started to receive e-mails from the agency she is supposed to be using to help her correspond with me. The agency has suggested gifts to send her, for her birthday, Christmas and recently Valentines. I have ignored these messages, preferring to use other services.

This started me thinking. What if this is a scam, and the scam is that the agency suggesting gifts for your girl will not actually the gift, but actually pocket the money. Of course, the girl will have to be in on this scam, and would be getting a cut. All the girl has to do is keep writing and encourage her man (or men) to keep writing to her.

The girl could have several guys corresponding to her, and some may actually be buying her gifts through the agency!

Has anyone come across this as a potential scam?