Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: the bat!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005

    Default the bat!

    hello using the email client the bat! and tell you i have not internet at home this is a red flag...this is not possible!!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005


    quote:Originally posted by capetown

    hello using the email client the bat! and tell you i have not internet at home this is a red flag...this is not possible!!!!!!!
    Hello, man! i think that you are not right! Cyber clubs in Russia really have The Bat programs! Much people keep their base on zip diskette or on usb flash drive. So they can come to cyber club, to join their usb flash drive to usd port then to enter in the Bat and to specify the path to their mail base! and then visa versa! do you understand?! Man, no need to talk about the things you don't know well!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005


    What is a BAT ???
    Please explain to me.

  4. #4


    The first and second posts both say clearly, "The Bat" is the name of an e-mail client and it's commonly found in Internet Cafes in Russia and other FSU countries. An e-mail client is something similar to Microsoft Outlook Express.

  5. #5


    Stay in Africa man, where are you headed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005


    hello i m from germany not from southafrica..okay you can see this when you click on full header or details:

    Return-Path: <xxxx@ukrtop.com>
    Received: from smtp2.pochta.ru ( by mx2.unit.tiscali.de (
    id 41A458AE01641DDD for xxxx@tiscali.de; Sun, 9 Jan 2005 22:53:03 +0100
    Received: from localhost (adsl-68-125-216-108.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net [])
    (author=andromeda04@front.ru authenticated bits=0)
    by smtp2.pochta.ru (8.13.1/8.13.1) with ESMTP daemon=POCHTA.RU id j09LqMK1071105
    (version=TLSv1/SSLv3 cipher=EDH-RSA-DES-CBC3-SHA bits=168 verify=FAIL)
    for <xxxx@tiscali.de>; Mon, 10 Jan 2005 00:52:35 +0300 (MSK)
    (envelope-from xxxn@ukrtop.com)
    X-Author: andromeda04@front.ru from localhost (adsl-68-125-216-108.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net []) via Free Mail POCHTA.RU
    Date: Sun, 9 Jan 2005 23:57:30 +0300
    From: Lady Elena <lxxxx@ukrtop.com>
    [b]X-Mailer: The Bat! (v2.00.6) Business[
    X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
    Message-ID: <91107023015.20050109235730@ukrtop.com>
    To: xxxx@tiscali.de
    Subject: Hi my lovely!
    In-Reply-To: <001501c4f669$bbb4be00$16b2a8c0@>
    References: <001501c4f669$bbb4be00$16b2a8c0@>
    MIME-Version: 1.0

    SEE ON X MAILER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!the bat and the versionnumber!

    Here's when it becomes a clear warning sign: If the girl claims to be emailing you from an Internet cafe, but the headers of her emails show "The Bat!" as her "X-Mailer". If she is truly using an Internet cafe, she would be sending you her messages through the web-based interface of her free email services, and not using a local email program such as "The Bat!" or any other. So, if the "X-Mailer" shows as "Outlook Express" or any other "locally installed" email software and she claims to be emailing you from an Internet cafe, it's the same clear warning sign. However "The Bat!" seems to be their email program of choice, and is one of the only ones that can easily be setup to work with these free email services.
    You can find this information by looking at the full headers of her email, and look for a line like this: X-Mailer: The Bat!

  7. #7


    Web mail such as yahoo.com and others can be managed via POP3 using an e-mail client. She need not be using the webmail front-end. One line that gives you a clue is adsl-68-125-216-108.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net
    This looks like it originates here:
    quote:United States - Texas - Plano
    Reverse IP: No websites hosted using this IP address
    Reverse DNS: adsl-68-125-216-108.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net
    Pac Bell Internet Services PBI-NET-10 (NET-68-120-0-0-1) -
    PPPoX Pool - rback3.irvnca SBC068125216000031118 (NET-68-125-216-0-1) -
    Maybe I'm all mixed up, but doesn't this address point to a digital subscriber line, "irvnca" - may be Irvine, California? On the other hand, this may simply be a machine with an open relay or an open anonymous proxy active, so the originator may be attempting to conceal its point of origin.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005


    Someone who tried to scam me this week/last week used The Bat! too. It was in the header of the email, similar to Captown's.

  9. #9


    Yeah, well they all use the bat, either at home or in internet cafe. The way to tell which is like this. If the header says a dial-up server is being used, it's a home connection. Internet cafes do use dial-ups.


    We gotta a long way to go today baby

Similar Threads

  1. Funny....
    By Defective in forum Scam or not?
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-25-2006, 12:29 AM
  2. I'm now worried !!
    By Giles in forum Scam or not?
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-01-2005, 08:25 PM
  3. Truth about "some site..."
    By MarriageAgency2003 in forum Scam scenarios
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 11:35 PM
  4. Advice would be appreciated
    By davel100 in forum Scam or not?
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 11:55 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Username Changing provided by Username Change (Free) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com